Zhenhai Tower

Zhenhai Tower

Zhenhai Tower is located at the small Beaulieu Mound in Yuexiu Mountain. It was originally also called WanJiang Tower, of which Jiang means river. Nevertheless, since Pearl River is a pretty wide channel, it was then renamed Wanhai Tower instead, referring to a position of which one can look at the sea. In addition, as this tower is also 5-storey tall, it therefore also obtains the name of 5-Storey Tower. 

At the front of the tower are a series of ancient stone tablets from the past dynasties, while on the right is a display of 12 ancient canons, making it looks imposing and majestic. Thus, it is never too much of a surprise that this tower has been titled one of the 8 best attractions in GuangZhou, and even the best in LingNan. 

In 1950, Zhenhai Tower was renamed as the Guangzhou Museum, displaying historical treasures of Guangzhou, showcasing its prospering development of the past 2000 years. Even a poet was exclaimed by its historical existence and wrote a poem praising its value of persistence to survive after the wind and rain of these many years. It is only by standing here would one understand the charm and fascination of this age old tower.